MIA of Russia officers suppressed the activities of a group, whose members are suspected of telephone fraud

“As a result of operational search activities, the MIA of Russia GA for Criminal Investigation (CI), together with colleagues from the MIA of Russia GA for the Voronezh Region, with the participation of Rosgvardia detained participants of an organized group suspected of committing a series of money thefts by deception from accounts of residents of various regions of Russia using mobile communication means.

They were nine residents of the Moscow and Kaluga regions, as well as of the city of Moscow aged from 26 to 54, including two women and seven men, one of whom was previously convicted for a similar crime,” said the official representative of the Russian MIA Irina Volk.

It was established that the suspects, while in the capital, had a telephone conversations with a 82-year-old resident of the city of Semiluki in the Voronezh Region. Under the pretext of paying monetary compensation for the earlier purchased medicines, they convinced the pensioner to transfer more than 500 thousand rubles to an account controlled by them.

The deceived elderly woman fulfilled the demand of the offenders and transferred the indicated amount through an electronic payment system.

“In the same way they got hold of the money of a 78-year-old resident of the city of Ostrogozhsk, as well as of a 79-year-old resident of the village of Zaliman, Bogucharsky District of the Voronezh Region.

Criminal cases on the grounds of crimes provided for in part 4 of article 159 of the Criminal Code of the Russian Federation were initiated,” added Irina Volk.

The investigation has grounds to believe that the defendants are involved in committing more than two hundred telephone frauds against residents of various regions of Russia. According to preliminary data, the amount of material damage is about 30 million rubles.

The official website of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Russian Federation
© 2018, The Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Russian Federation